Jackson County Big Brothers/Big Sisters Honor Mentors with Appreciation Dinner

JACKSON, MI – Big Brothers Big Sisters of Jackson County celebrated National Mentoring Month by honoring individuals and organizations that provide and support mentorship for local children.

The 2022 Mentor Appreciation Dinner and Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday, April 21 at City View 520 at the Commonwealth Commerce Center in downtown Jackson.

Local speed painter Evan Struck entertained the crowd of 175 and shared his beliefs on the importance of nurturing children through art.

Related: Meet the 19-year-old artist behind the beautiful art on Jackson-area buildings

The awards given are:

Community Supporter of the Year – Gary and Lynn Kenworthy

Volunteer of the Year – Sue Shirkey

CB Big Brother of the Year – Jason Butterfield

CB Big Sister of the Year – Anita Siryk

SB Big Brother of the Year – Bill Blakemore

SB Big Sister of the Year – Danielle Mackey

Foundation of the Year – Alvin Glick Foundation

Contributing Organization of the Year – LJ Ross Associates

Media Advocate of the Year – Tripp’s Auto Shop & Collision

“Mac” Gwinn Consumers Retiree Service Award – Kathy Alexander and Jack Decker

Council Member Recognition Award – David Hawkin

BBBS Board Service Award – Emilie Walainis

Dave Mullholand Social Media Communicator Award – Greg O’Connor

Planned Giving Contributor of the Year – Flagstar Bank

Activity Supporter of the Year – JTV (Karen, Bart & Andy)

Event Supporter of the Year – Jack V. Butterfield Investment

All Event Friends / Fundraising Supporters – Bruton Electric

Littles Godfather of the Year – Danny Amanati

Educator of the Year – East Jackson, Earl Kenyan

SB Jr. Big Brother of the Year – Central MichiganBrady Sova and East JacksonBryce Johnson

SB Jr. Big Sister of the Year – Central MichiganOlivia Shown and East JacksonCourtney Overholt

Educational Partner – Central Michigan Schools. Honorable MentionEast of Jackson

Five+ Year Longevity Award – Rebecca Armstrong, Emily Walainis, Daniel Kaser, Kristen Hanna, Lori Frewen, Gilbert Blanks, Pamela Maynard, Darlene LaVoy, Annie Steward, Myeshia Jones, Kimberly DePew, Christina Martoia, Faruk Pilav and Jason Butterfield (age 10).

Comments are closed.